Adding a New Patient

Registering a New Permanent Patient (2.38)

This is step by step guide to adding a new patient to Vision 3:

  1. From the Vision 3 front screen, select Registration .
Important - Before adding a patient to your system, it is vital you check the patient has not been registered before. The safest way is a date of birth search, see Checking the Register, providing they are not already on the system you should continue. If they have previously been registered, they must be re-registered properly to avoid duplications, see Re-Registration for details.
  1. Once you are sure, the new patient has not been registered with your practice before, select New Patient .
  2. The 'Add Member to an existing Family' message displays, select:
    • Existing - If the new patient is being added to an existing household, select any member of the household with the same address, see Family Tab for details.
    • Selected - If a member of the family you are adding this patient to displays at the top of the screen. Most common when adding a family group or a new baby.
    • New - If the patient you are adding has no connection to anyone on your Vision 3 system.

  3. The Registration - Personal Details screen displays:

  1. Complete as appropriate, items highlighted in red are mandatory, see Registration - Personal Details (initial) for details.

  2. Select OK and the New Patient Registration message displays:

  3. Select Yes to confirm you are sure you want to create this record, or No to cancel.
  4. The Registration Card Type screen displays:

  5. Select the appropriate option(s): 
  1. The Registration Details - Personal tab displays, most personal information completes automatically but you can add any further information as required, for example, Title, Marital Status.
  1. If not completed, select Add to enter patient's Main Address, see Adding and Maintaining Patient Addresses for details.
    Note - The address may already be completed by default if you are adding the patient to an Existing or Selected family.

    Contact numbers are also recorded here, see Adding and Maintaining Contact Numbers for details. Select Next.

  2. Now complete the following tabs selecting Next once you are finished with each one:
    • Registration - Select a Usual GP if this differs from the registered GP. For children under 5, register CHS, see Registration Tab for full details.
    • Notes - Enter any free text comments of an administrative nature, contact notes or confidential notes if required, see Notes Tab for full details.
    • Other - Record details of rural mileage, residential institutes, household rank, medical insurance, dispensing, prescription charge exemptions, notes kept at, see Other Tab for full details.
    • Ids - Add any hospital numbers or other reference numbers associated with the patient, see Ids Tab for full details.
    • Family - Displays details of any other members of the same household, see Family Tab for full details.
    • Consent - Depending on your country and settings, various consents are set from this screen, see Consent Tab for full details.
    • Online Services - Complete to enable your patient to access any online services you offer, see Online Services Tab for full details.
    • Preferences - Displays quick add options for various useful records, see Preferences Tab for full details.
  3. Check the Incomplete Details and Incomplete RegLinks indicators at the top if the screen, if:
    • Incomplete Details has a tick, you have missed out some mandatory information, select Action - Acceptance and run through the screens again checking for and completing any red entries.
    • Incomplete RegLinks has a tick, you have completed enough information for (Undefined variable: General.Registration Links), this is usually a missing NHS Number.

  4. Select OK to save.
  1. If the patient has incomplete details, a warning displays, select:
    • Yes to continue, or
    • No to return to the registration screen and complete any missing information.

Providing the Incomplete RegLinks tick was cleared before you selected OK, the patient's Registration record is "frozen" (if you are Registration Links) and you cannot update their Registration details until they are accepted via the Registration Links process.

See Frozen screen and Editing Registration Details for further details.
Training Tip - To redisplay the Registration - Personal Details (intial) screen, select Action - Acceptance or Action Re-registration. You can also return to it once at the Medical Card selection type screen, by selecting Previous.
Note – To print this topic select Print in the top right corner and follow the on-screen prompts.