Encounters are the equivalent of Consultations in Vision 3.
They are used to define and group data added during a consultation, for example acute medication, diagnosis and symptoms are contained together within one encounter.
This makes it easy to see what was recorded during current and previous patient consultations.
Points to note:
- To add data to the patient record, you must first start an encounter - otherwise the patient record is view only, with the exception of repeat medication management.
- When starting an encounter, you need to select the type of encounter you are having with the patient eg Surgery Consultation, Home Visit etc.
- You must remember to close your encounter when you have finished adding data so that it can be synchronised with the patient record.
- Open encounters are saved on workstation/device and cannot be accessed when you login in elsewhere. Note - Please ensure that all encounters are saved and closed before switching devices.Note – Please ensure that all encounters are closed and uploaded before performing any upgrade on your device, as these are not accessible following the upgrade.
- Encounters that are left open for 90 days, or encounters that are closed but you have not logged into the app while device is connected to the internet for 90 days are automatically deleted from Vision Anywhere.
- Open / Saved encounters are wiped from your device if you forget your password.
- You can see a list of all previous encounters by selecting the Encounters menu in the Patient Summary screen.
If you leave the patient record without having saved the encounter, you are warned that the encounter is still open.
If you select Continue and do not close the encounter, the patient's name is added to Open Encounters on the Vision Anywhere Home screen.
From here you can select the patient's details to reopen their summary and return to your consultation by selecting Encounter .
The patient record is reopened enabling you to add, edit or delete data. To save the encounter select Done .
The Patient Summary screen displays the last encounter.
To see all previous encounters:
- Select Encounter in the Tab bar at the bottom of the screen.
The list of all Encounters displays.
- Swipe the screen to see more.
The Encounter list can be filtered by date. See - Viewing a Record.
To add data, you must first start a new encounter.
You must save the encounter for the data to write back to the patient record.
You can leave an encounter open and navigate to other screens, but you must remember to close the encounter within 90 days, or it is deleted.
It is good practice to check for any open encounters before finishing your visits.
- Select a patient.
The patient record opens on the Patient Summary screen.
- Select Add to open a new encounter.
- The default encounter type is Acute Visit.
To change this select the encounter type from the list:
- Acute visit
- Follow-up/routine visit
- Surgery Consultation
- Telephone call from a patient
- Telephone call to a patient
- Emergency consultation
- Home visit
- Nursing home visit
- Residential home visit
- Third party consultation
- Record the consultation.
- To close the Encounter select Done at the top right corner of the screen.
To close an Encounter select Done from the top right corner of the screen.
You can only delete previous encounters if they have not been closed and synchronised with the patient record, ie if you have opened it from the saved encounter list or you want to delete the current encounter you are working on.
To delete an encounter:
- From the Current Encounter screen select Delete .
- You are prompted that deleting the encounter also deletes everything that has been added to it.
- Select Yes.
- The encounter is now removed from Vision Anywhere.
- If you do not close the encounter it is not uploaded up to the clinical system and is automatically deleted after 90 days.
- Open encounters are saved on your device and are not available from any other setting.
- Any data added whilst offline is sent back to your clinical system when you are online and login to Vision Anywhere. The encounter is automatically deleted if you do not sign in within 90 days.
Only closed encounters are uploaded.
- Any open or closed encounter are deleted from your device if you forget your password.