Encounters are the equivalent of Consultations in Vision 3. They are used to define and group data added during a consultation, for example acute medication, diagnosis and symptoms are contained together within one encounter. This makes it easy to see what was recorded during current and previous patient consultations.
Points to note:
- To add data to the patient record, you must first start an encounter - otherwise the patient record is view only (with the exception of repeat medication management).
- When starting an encounter, you need to select the type of encounter you are having with the patient, for example, Surgery Consultation, Home Visit etc.
- You must remember to close your encounter when you have finished adding data then it can be synchronised with Vision.
- Encounters that are left open for 30 days, or encounters that are closed but you have not logged into the app while device is connected to the internet for 30 days are automatically deleted from Vision Anywhere.Note – Please ensure that all encounters are closed and uploaded before performing any upgrade on your device, as these will no longer be accessible following the upgrade.
- Open encounters are saved locally on your device and cannot be accessed from any other setting.
- Open encounters are wiped from your device if you forget your password.
- You can see a list of all previous encounters by selecting the Encounters menu in the Patient Summary screen.
The Patient Summary screen displays the last encounter.
To see all previous encounters, tap the Encounter >heading.
The list of all Encounters displays.
The Encounter view can be filtered by date.
To add data, you must first start a new encounter.
You must save the encounter for the data to write back to the patient record.
You can leave an encounter open and navigate to other screens, but you must remember to close the encounter within 30 days, or it will be deleted.
It is good practice to check for any open encounters before finishing your visits.
Open an Encounter
- Select a patient from your Appointments Today, Patient Search or Downloaded Patients screen.
The patient record opens on the Patient Summary screen.
- Tap Add New Encounter button.
- Select the encounter type from the list. The default is Acute Visit, the other options are:
- Emergency consultation
- Follow-up/routine visit
- Surgery Consultation
- Telephone call from a patient
- Telephone call to a patient
- Emergency consultation
- Home visit
- Nursing home visit
- Residential home visit
- Third party consultation
The data recorded in the Encounter will then be sent back to the patient's clinical system.
To close an Encounter select Save .
The data recorded in the Encounter will then be sent back to the patient's clinical system, as long as you are connected to the internet.
Open and offline encounters are automatically deleted after 30 days or if you forget your password.
- If you want to come back to an encounter later, navigate away from the Current Encounter screen eg click the Menu button, choosing either the Home or Appointments view.
- Depending on your preferences settings, you are prompted that the encounter is still open and has not been added to the patient record, click Continue.
- Your encounter is now parked on the Vision Anywhere Home screen under the Encounters in progress tile.
- You can now continue to select another patient or exit Vision Anywhere.
Open encounters are saved locally on your device and cannot be accessed from any other setting.
You can only delete previous encounters if they have not been saved and are not therefore synchronised with the patient record, ie if you have opened it from the saved encounter list or you want to delete the current encounter you are working on.
To delete an encounter:
- From the Current Encounter screen select the Options button in the top right corner of the screen.
- Choose Delete.
- You are prompted that deleting the encounter will also delete everything that has been added to it.
- Select Yes to proceed.
The encounter is now removed from Vision Anywhere.
- If you do not close the encounter it will not by uploaded back to the clinical system and is automatically deleted after 30 days.
- Open encounters are saved on your device and are not available from any other setting.
- Any data added whilst offline is sent back to your clinical system when you are next online and login to Vision Anywhere.
- Only closed encounters are uploaded.
- Any open or closed encounter are deleted from your device if you forget your password.